My Ikigai Game: Where Strengths, Passions, and Global Needs Intersect

Walking to the plot today, Mariana, dana and I, discussed the 4 questions below:

1)What are the things you’re good at?

Our answers were, public speaking, listening, and swimming. For some reason it took the three of us a lot of time to think of an answer. Which is weird because I normally think of myself as a person who is good at many things, so here’s a list of some other things that I feel I’m good at: writing, styling, baking, studying, singing, loving, and entertaining myself.

2) What do you love?

Our answers were eating, food, creating and baking. Again, we couldn’t brainstorm enough in the time allowed so here’s some more: Being close to family and friends, achieving goals and excelling academically, learning new things, laughing, traveling, the beach at sunset, taking a hot shower after a long day, relationships that inspire growth, reassurance, and spending quality time.

With writing, there’s always the opportunity of learning new things and discovering new writing techniques. Also, being able to entertain myself allows me to appreciate and embrace the times at which I’m alone. So basically, it helps me be able to laugh on my own, travel solo, and spend quality time with myself which are all things that I love. Another overlap I’ve noticed is the ability to love wholeheartedly which helps me develop a positive mindset for life which further helps me go about life in a much easier and simpler way. It helps me remain accepting of the world around me.

3) What does the world need?

We said, humanity, logic, people with openness to learn, peace, understanding leaders, and freedom to an extent.

The overlap between the things I’m good at and what the world needs is interesting. I’ve actually never thought of this question before and it’s intriguing how most of what I’m good at somehow relates to what we thought the world needed. For instance, my ability in public speaking can be used to encourage understanding, open dialogue, and peace. Writing is another skill that can make a difference, as it has the potential to spread knowledge, education and logic. I’ve also realized that my capacity to love wholeheartedly can play a role in fostering relationships that inspire growth, understanding leaders, and humanity, which are essential for the world. Even my ability to entertain myself indirectly supports a positive mindset, which I believe can help in promoting peace and understanding when interacting with others.

When it comes to what I love, there’s a clear connection with the world’s needs as well. My love for creating and baking, for example, can be channeled into activities that promote humanity, and baking can bring people together, contributing to building relationships and understanding. (This might seem kind of far-fetched 😂, but a lot of the time when my friends come over and we decide to bake together, it turns out to be a very wholesome and fulfilling experience). Also, being close to family and friends is a source of reassurance and quality time, which aligns with the world’s needs for peace, understanding, and humanity. Additionally, my drive to achieve goals and excel academically contributes to the world’s need for individuals open to learning. Traveling, a passion of mine, broadens my understanding of different cultures, promoting humanity and openness to learning. 

4) What could you possibly create a game about?

Dana suggested, to host a debate revolving around the question “what’s one thing that the world needs”, and there would be a voting at the end.

Here are some other game ideas i’ve thought of later on my own:

-The player is basically newly elected as president of the country and has to make decisions about all kinds of things. They must navigate several scenarios and make choices that affect the country’s economy, environment, healthcare, education, and more.This way, they will explore the concept of opportunity cost and understand the importance of decision making. ( I would love this game as an econ major 😀) So, As players navigate complex scenarios, they are put in the position of being understanding and thoughtful leaders. Making decisions that consider the well-being of the population and the long-term impact reflects the need for leaders who understand the consequences of their actions and use logic and empathy to promote peace.

-The other game I thought of is inspired by Soliya ( basically like the game-version) where the game could be adventure-like and players begin a journey to learn about different cultures. They must engage in dialogue, solve cultural puzzles, and possibly even foster relations. This would help promote diplomacy and understanding, peacefulness and inclusivity. Which are all things that the world definitely needs.


One response to “My Ikigai Game: Where Strengths, Passions, and Global Needs Intersect”

  1. Maha Bali Avatar

    I love both game ideas!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started